Inspirational nominees revealed for the RaceNation Sport and Move More Jersey Awards 2022!

Friday 7 October 2022

Jersey Sport are pleased to announce the inspirational individuals, sporting organisations, schools and businesses who participate, coach or volunteer within sport, and those who enable active opportunities in Jersey have now been shortlisted for the RaceNation Sport and Move More Jersey Awards 2022!

The Awards evening, taking place at the Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel on 4 November, is set to be an overdue celebration to recognise the many achievements which have taken place between 1 August 2019 and 8 August 2022.

This year, the RaceNation Sport and Move More Jersey Awards will welcome international netballer, ex England Roses netball captain and Commonwealth gold medal winner, Serena Kersten MBE, as guest speaker during the celebration of sport and active living – with presentations made to winners amongst 13 different Award categories.

Local sports stars will be inducted into the prestigious Hall of Fame, sponsored by Ocorian Trustees, and new for 2022 is the Local Hero Award, sponsored by Reiach and Hall Architects. The winners of these special Awards will be announced on the night – along the winners of the Lifetime Achievement Award and the new Special Achievement Award.

Will Golder, RaceNation CEO said, “As a Jersey based business, it gives us great pride to see the outstanding individuals, volunteers, coaches, sporting organisations and charities nominated for the awards this year. Jersey was the start of our journey to working with thousands of events and raising millions for charity through our platforms, so to be able to celebrate the success that the island continues to produce is a real honour and we are delighted to sponsor these awards for another year.”

Congratulations to all the nominees who have been shortlisted in the following Award categories:

Sporting Performance of the Year Award, sponsored by ROK:

  • Jersey Cricket
  • Rhys Hidrio
  • Daniel Lee
  • Ollie Turner

Sporting Performance of the Year Award Under 21), sponsored by Aztec Financial Services (Jersey) Limited:

  • Thomas Burns
  • Filip Nowacki
  • Hannah Silcock
  • Libby Watts

Sports Organisation of the Year Award, sponsored by Ocorian Trustees:

  • Commonwealth Games Association Jersey
  • Jersey Bulls
  • Jersey Football Association
  • Jersey Rowing Club

Manager or Coach of the Year Award, sponsored by Jersey Mencap:

  • Vladimiro Afonso
  • Nathan Jegou
  • Neil Macrae
  • Garry Tumelty

Volunteer of the Year Award, sponsored by Friends of the Jersey Neonatal Unit (JNU):

  • Bill Baker
  • Richard English
  • Sarah Heelis
  • Stephen Kearns

Young Volunteer of the Year Award (Under 25), sponsored by Faithful + Gould:

  • Holly Morel
  • Eden Powell
  • Elliot Powell
  • Harry Walker
  • Ryan Wilson

Move More School of the Year Award, sponsored by Camerons:

  • d’Auvergne Primary School
  • FCJ Primary School
  • Les Landes School

Move MoreWorkplace of the Year Award, sponsored by Grant Thornton:

  • Accuro Trust (Jersey) Ltd
  • Highvern
  • Prosperity 24/7

Move More Group of the Year Award, sponsored by Les Amis:

  • Cycle Without Limits
  • Jersey Girls Run
  • @jersey.runclub
  • The Waterfront Junior Parkrun

Jersey Sport Chairman, Phil Austin MBE said, “We’re extremely excited to be able to celebrate the sporting achievements and excellent physical activity initiatives at our Awards once again and to give all those people the recognition they truly deserve. Thank you to all our Award sponsors for their support, and in particular, a massive thank you to our event headline sponsor RaceNation, who are sponsoring the Awards again this year with their RaceNation Sports Giving platform. We look forward to welcoming you all to an evening celebration to remember!

To find out more about the RaceNation Sport and Move More Jersey Awards 2022, please visit: Tickets to the Awards evening will go on sale from Monday 10 October.


More News